Anthony Ballantoni


print article archives RSS

Wrap-up: Richmond

Sunday, April 29, 2012

This weekend, Richmond International Raceway in Richmond, Virginia hosted the Sprint Cup Series Capital City 400 and the Nationwide Series Virginia 529 College Savings 250.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Time Trials
: Mark Martin received a $3,400 check for winning the Coors Light Pole Award in Richmond. He put up a 128.327 mph lap in the No. 55 Toyota to start up front. This was his 53rd pole in 837 NSCS races. It is his second pole and fifth top-10 start in 2012 and fifth in 53 races at Richmond. Martin led 29 laps and finished 8th. He is 19th in the 2012 point standings.

Did Not Qualify: No. 23 Scott Riggs; No. 49 J.J. Yeley.  

Race Winner: Kyle Busch won the Capital City 400, his 24th victory in 266 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races. This is the No. 18 Toyota driver's first victory and fourth top-10 finish in 2012. It is his fourth victory and 13th top-10 finish in 15 races at Richmond International Raceway. Busch has now won four consecutive Spring races at Richmond. He is 11th in the 2012 NSCS standings.

Contingency Awards:

- Carl Edwards won the $5,400 3M Lap Leader Award for leading the most laps (206 of 400). He started the No. 99 Ford 2nd and finished the race in 10th. He is 9th in the standings.
- Carl Edwards also won the $5,000 American Ethanol Green Flag Restart award for recording the fastest average speed on restarts and finishing the race on the lead lap.
- Toyota Racing Development won the $5,000 Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race award (Kyle Busch’s No. 18).
- Kyle Busch’s crew chief, Dave Rogers, won the $5,000 DIRECTV Crew Chief of the Race Award. The award goes to the crew chief of the driver who has demonstrated the best qualifying and race effort based on finishing positions during the weekend.
- Brian Pattie, crew chief on the No. 15 Toyota driven by Clint Bowyer won the $5,500 Moog Problem Solver of the Race award. The award goes to the crew chief that improves the most from first half of the race to the second half (improved 0.270 seconds). Bowyer started the race in 23rd and finished in 7th. He is 12th in the standings.
- Jamie McMurray won the $5000 USG Improving the Finish Award which goes to the driver who improves the most from start to finish. The No. 1 driver improved 23 places from 37th in the lineup to a 14th place finish. He is 18th in the standings.
- Kyle Busch won the $5,000 Mobil 1 Command Performance Driver of the Race award given to the winner of the race or the next-highest finishing driver displaying the Mobil 1 decal. Busch was the race winner.

Points Leader: Greg Biffle leads the point standings by 5 points over Dale Earnhardt Jr.

NSCS Top 12:

1. Greg Biffle
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Martin Truex Jr.
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Tony Stewart
9. Carl Edwards
10. Ryan Newman
11. Kyle Busch
12. Clint Bowyer

Next NSCS Race: Aaron’s 499, May 6th at Talladega Superspeedway.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

NASCAR Nationwide Series:

Time Trials:
Sprint Cup regular Kevin Harvick received a $3,400 check for winning the Coors Light Pole Award at Richmond. He put up a 124.625 mph lap in the No. 33 Chevrolet to start up front. He led 159 laps and finished in 3rd place. This is Harvick's second pole in 22 NNS races at Richmond International Raceway. He is ineligible for driver points in this series.

Did Not Qualify: No. 15 Scott Riggs.

Race Winner:
Kurt Busch, Sprint Cup Regular (No. 51), wins the Virginia 529 College Savings 250, his fourth victory in 15 NASCAR Nationwide Series races. He started the No. 54 Toyota tenth in the lineup and led 68 of the 250 lap event. It is his first NNS victory and second top-10 finish in 2012. Kurt scored the first victory for brother, Kyle's NNS team, Kyle Busch Motorsports. Kurt is ineligible for driver points in this series.

Rookie of the Race:
Austin Dillon, the No. 3 Chevrolet driver, started 3rd and finished 9th. This was ahead of the rest of the 2012 Rookie of the Year contenders. Dillon is 3rd in the 2012 NNS point standings.

Contingency Awards:

- Elliott Sadler, driver of the No. 2 Chevrolet, won the $2,000 Mobil 1 Driver of the Race award for his 6th place finish.
- Brian Scott makes the most improvement in the series since his 14th place finish was 23 places better than his last NNS finish. This earned the No. 11 driver a $2,600 check and the Featherlite Most Improved Driver award. Scott is 15th in the standings.
- Kevin Harvick won the $2,200 3M Lap Leader award for leading the most laps (159 of 250).
- Toyota Racing Development (Kurt Busch’s No. 54 Toyota) won the $2,100 Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race award.

Points Leader:
Elliott Sadler leads the point standings by 2 points over Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

NNS Top 10:

1. Elliott Sadler
2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3. Austin Dillon
4. Sam Hornish Jr.
5. Michael Annett
6. Cole Whitt
7. Justin Allgaier
8. Tayler Malsam
9. Trevor Bayne
10. Mike Bliss

Next NNS Race:
Aaron’s 312, May 5th at Talladega Superspeedway.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series:

Next NCWTS Race: NC Education Lottery 200, May 18th at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Tony Ballantoni runs the NASCAR coverage at
Email :Anthony Ballantoni

Highest Searched Drivers over the last 7 days

Video Center

    Silva: Week 3 Matchups

    Silva: Week 3 Matchups
    Summerlin: Wk 3 Waivers

    Summerlin: Wk 3 Waivers
    Dose: Lions Roar Past Giants

    Dose: Lions Roar Past Giants
    Draftsville: Episode 2

    Draftsville: Episode 2
    NASCAR meets Fantasy Football

    NASCAR meets Fantasy Football
    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings

    Jesse: MLB Power Rankings
    Whoops! Silva Can

    Whoops! Silva Can't Find Gronk
    NFL Must Haves

    NFL Must Haves