Anthony Ballantoni


print article archives RSS

Wrap-up: Chicagoland NNS

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Chicagoland Speedway hosted the NASCAR Nationwide Series STP 300 this past Sunday. The Sprint Cup and Camping World Truck Series both took a break this week. The Sprint Cup returns on July 28th with the Crown Royal Presents the Samuel Deeds 400 at The Brickyard at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The Camping World Truck Series will feature the inaugural 1-800 CarCash at its first race on the dirt track Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio on Wednesday night, July 24th. The ARCA Series and the Canadian Tire Series were in action this past week.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Points Leader: Jimmie Johnson leads the point standings by 56 points over Clint Bowyer.

Next NSCS Race: Crown Royal Presents the Samuel Deeds 400 at The Brickyard, Sunday, July 28, 2013 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Nationwide Series
Time Trials: 
Sam Hornish Jr. won the Coors Light Pole Award for the 3rd Annual STP 300 with a lap of 30.279 seconds, 178.341 mph. This is the No. 12 Ford Mustang driver's second pole in 84 NNS races. It is his first pole and 15th top-10 start in 2013. This is Hornish's first pole in four races at Chicagoland Speedway. He led 56 laps, finished second in the race and took over the lead in the 2013 NSCS point standings.

Did Not Qualify: No. 46 Tim Schendel.

Race Winner: Sprint Cup regular Joey Logano won the 3rd Annual STP 300, his 20th victory in 118 NNS races. It ties him with Greg Biffle for 15th on the all-time NNS wins list. This is the No. 22 Ford Mustang driver's second NNS victory and sixth top-10 finish in 2013. It is his second victory and fourth top-10 finish in five NNS races at Chicagoland Speedway. Logano is ineligible for driver points in this series.

Rookie of the Race: Kyle Larson, the No. 32 Chevrolet Camaro driver, started 22nd and finished 12th. This was ahead of the rest of the 2013 Rookie of the Year contenders earning him the Sunoco Rookie of the Race award.

Contingency Awards:
- Austin Dillon won the Mobil 1 Driver of the Race award given to the winner of the race or the next-highest finishing driver displaying the Mobil 1 decal. The driver of the No. 3 Chevrolet Camaro earned the award for his third place finish.
- Dillon also won the Duralast Brakes “Brake in the Race” award given to the highest eligible driver in the running order at the time of the first caution of each race.
- Elliott Sadler started the No. 11 Toyota in second place and finished in fourth. He won the 3M Lap Leader award for leading the most laps (81 of 200).
- Joe Gibbs Racing Engines won the Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race award. They built the engine in Sadler’s No. 11.

Points Leader: Sam Hornish Jr. leads the point standings by 7 points over Regan Smith.

NNS Top 10 (G/L):
1. Sam Hornish Jr. +1
2. Regan Smith -1
3. Austin Dillon 0
4. Elliott Sadler +1
5. Justin Allgaier -1
6. Brian Vickers 0
7. Kyle Larson 0
8. Brian Scott 0
9. Trevor Bayne 0
10. Parker Kligerman 0

Next NNS Race: Indiana 250, Saturday, July 27, 2013 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Points Leader:
Matt Crafton leads the standings by 38 points over Jeb Burton.

Next NCWTS Race:  1-800 CarCash, Wednesday night, July 24, 2013 at Eldora Speedway. (Dirt Track)
Other Racing Series

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
July 21, Ansell ActivArmr® 150 at Chicagoland Speedway
Winner: Corey LaJoie   -   Pole: Ryan Blaney
Points Leader: Frank Kimmel
Next: July 28, Barbera’s Autoland 150 at New Jersey Motorsports Park

NASCAR K&N Pro Series East
July 13, NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Columbus Motor Speedway
Winner: Daniel Suarez    -   Pole: Dylan Kwasniewski
Points Leader: Dylan Kwasniewski
Next: August 2, Pork Be Inspired 150 at Iowa Speedway

NASCAR K&N Pro Series West
June 22, Carneros 200 at Sonoma Raceway -
Winner: Derek Thorn   -   Pole: Cameron Hayley
Points Leader: Michael Self
Next: July 27, Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Colorado National Speedway

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series
July 17, Velocity Prairie Thunder at Auto Clearing Motor Speedway
Winner: Scott Steckly   -   Pole: J.R. Fitzpatrick
Points Leader: D.J. Kennington 
Next: July 27, National 250 at Autodrome St. Eustache.

NASCAR Toyota Series (Mexico)
June 30, Regia 200 at Autodromo Monterrey
Winner: Daniel Suarez   -   Pole: Homero Richards
Points Leader: Antonio Perez
Next: July 28, Chiapas 240 at Autodromo de Chiapas

Tony Ballantoni runs the NASCAR coverage at
Email :Anthony Ballantoni

Highest Searched Drivers over the last 7 days

Video Center

    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600

    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600
    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?

    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?
    Waiver Wire: Need saves?

    Waiver Wire: Need saves?
    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell

    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell
    Waiver wire: Top SP targets

    Waiver wire: Top SP targets
    NASCAR Fantasy: Kansas

    NASCAR Fantasy: Kansas
    MLB: Sell Paxton, Buy Bird

    MLB: Sell Paxton, Buy Bird
    Top MLB waiver wire adds

    Top MLB waiver wire adds