Anthony Ballantoni


print article archives RSS

Wrap-up: Martinsville

Sunday, October 27, 2013

The Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Virginia hosted the Camping World Truck Series Kroger 200 on Saturday and the Sprint Cup Goody's Headache Relief Shot 500 on Sunday. The Nationwide Series will return to action on Saturday, Nov. 2, at Texas Motor Speedway. The K&N Pro Series-West and NASCAR Toyota Series (Mexico) held races this past weekend.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Time Trials
: Denny Hamlin (11 Toyota) won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Goody's Headache Relief Shot 500  with a lap of 99.595 mph. Eighteen different drivers topped the old track Coors Light qualifying record of 98.4 mph set by Jimmie Johnson in April 2013. This is Hamlin's 17th pole in 288 NSCS races; his fifth pole, a personal-best and series-high, in 2013 and his third pole in 16 races at Martinsville. Hamlin led 14 laps in the race and finished in seventh place.
Did Not Qualify: No one, only 43 teams entered. 
Winner:  Jeff Gordon (24 Chevrolet) won the Goody's Headache Relief Shot 500, his 88th victory in 722 NSCS races. This is his first victory and 17th top-10 finish in 2013. This is his eighth victory and 34th top-10 finish in 42 races at Martinsville. The win ties him with Jimmie Johnson for most victories at Martinsville among active drivers, trailing only Richard Petty and Darrell Waltrip on the all-time wins list here.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
-Coors Light Pole Award: Denny Hamlin, #11 99.595 mph (1, 7, 24th)
-3M Lap Leader: Matt Kenseth, #20 202 Laps (4, 2, 1st)
-American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Matt Kenseth, #20
-Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Matt Kenseth, #20
-Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development (TRD), #20
-Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Jimmie Johnson, #48 (2, 5, 2nd)
-Moog Problem Solver: (Brad Keselowski), #2 crew chief Paul Wolfe, 0.182 seconds (11, 4, 15th)
-Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Kyle Busch, #18 (3, 15, 5th)
-Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Danica Patrick, #10 (41, 17, 28th)

Standings: Matt Kenseth leads the point standings over Jimmie Johnson (tied, but Kenseth has more bonus points).
Chase Standings (G/L):
1. Matt Kenseth 1
2. Jimmie Johnson -1
3. Jeff Gordon 2
4. Kevin Harvick 0
5. Kyle Busch -2
6. Clint Bowyer 2
7. Dale Earnhardt Jr. -1
8. Greg Biffle -1
9. Kurt Busch 0
10. Carl Edwards 0
11. Joey Logano 1
12. Ryan Newman -1
13. Kasey Kahne 0
Next: AAA Texas 500, Sunday. Nov. 3 at Texas Motor Speedway
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Nationwide Series

(Off Weekend)

Standings: Austin Dillon leads the point standings by 8 points over Sam Hornish Jr.
Next: O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge, Saturday, Nov. 2, at Texas Motor Speedway
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
Time Trials:
Sprint Cup regular Denny Hamlin won the Keystone Light Pole Award for the Kroger 200 with a lap of 96.489 mph. Earlier in the day, Hamlin won the Coors Light Pole Award for Sunday's NSCS race. This is the No. 51 Toyota Tundra driver's first pole in 16 NCWTS races. Hamlin led 65 laps in the race and finished in sixth place.
Did Not Qualify: No. 21 Spencer Gallagher and No. 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb.
Winner: Darrell Wallace Jr. (54 Toyota Tundra) won the Kroger 200, his first victory in 19 NCWTS races. This is his 11th top-10 finish in 2013 and his second top-10 finish in two races at Martinsville. Drive for Diversity graduate Wallace Jr. becomes the second African-American driver to win a NASCAR national series race, joining Wendell Scott.   
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
-Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Darrell Wallace Jr. #54 (3, Winner, 8th)
-Mahle Clevite Engine Builder: Toyota Racing Development (TRD), #54
-Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Darrell Wallace Jr. #54

Standings: Matt Crafton leads the standings by 51 points over James Buescher.
Top 10 (G/L):
1. Matt Crafton 0
2. James Buescher 1
3. Ty Dillon -1
4. Jeb Burton 0
5. Johnny Sauter 1
6. Ryan Blaney 1
7. Miguel Paludo -2
8. Darrell Wallace Jr. 1
9. Brendan Gaughan 1
10. Timothy Peters -2
Next: WinStar World Casino 350k, Friday, Nov. 1, at Texas Motor Speedway
Other Racing Series

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
2013 ARCA Champion: Frank Kimmel
2013 ARCA Rookie of the Year:
Justin Boston

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-East

2013 KNPSE Champion: Dylan Kwasniewski
2013 KNPSE Rookie of the Year: Jesse Little

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-West

Oct. 26, NAPA Auto Parts 150 at Kern County Raceway Park (Bakersfield, CA)
Winner: Greg Pursley   -   Pole: Gray Gaulding
Points Leader: Derek Thorn
Next: (season finale) Nov. 9, Casino Arizona 50 at Phoenix International Raceway

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series
2013 CTS Champion: Scott Steckly
2013 CTS Rookie of the Year: Alex Guenette

NASCAR Toyota Series-Mexico

Oct. 27, Tuxtla 240 at Autodromo de Chiapas
Winner: Jose Luis Ramirez  -  Pole: Daniel Suarez
Points Leader: Rodrigo Peralta
Next: (season finale) Nov. 10, Mexico Final 200 at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez (Mexico City)

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
2013 WMT Champion: Ryan Preece
2013 WMT Rookie of the Year: Cole Powell

Tony Ballantoni runs the NASCAR coverage at
Email :Anthony Ballantoni

Highest Searched Drivers over the last 7 days

Video Center

    NASCAR Fantasy: Michigan

    NASCAR Fantasy: Michigan
    MLB Waiver Wire Options

    MLB Waiver Wire Options
    NASCAR Fantasy: Pocono

    NASCAR Fantasy: Pocono
    Waiver wire: Nimmo an option

    Waiver wire: Nimmo an option
    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600

    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600
    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?

    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?
    Waiver Wire: Need saves?

    Waiver Wire: Need saves?
    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell

    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell