Anthony Ballantoni


print article archives RSS

Wrap-up: Pocono, Texas

Sunday, June 8, 2014


The Texas Motor Speedway (Fort Worth) hosted the Camping World Truck Series WinStar World Casino 400 on Friday night. The Sprint Cup Series took on the “Tricky Triangle” (Pocono Raceway) for the Pocono 400 on Sunday. The Nationwide Series was off this week and will return to action with the Michigan 250 on Saturday, June 14 at Michigan International Speedway. The latest results on the ARCA Racing Series and the NASCAR “Home Tracks” are also shown below.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
Time Trials:
Denny Hamlin won the Coors Light Pole Award for the Pocono 400 with a track qualifying record lap of 49.610 seconds, 181.415 mph. The previous record was held by Jimmie Johnson (180.654 mph/49.819 sec.) and set in August of 2013. This is the ninth track qualifying record set this season, and the second by Hamlin (Bristol). This is the No. 11 Toyota Camry driver's 19th pole in 304 NSCS races. It is his second pole and eighth top-10 start in 2014. This is his third pole in 17 races at Pocono. Hamlin's previous two Pocono poles came in his rookie season of 2006. Both resulted in victories. Hamlin led four laps in the race and finished in fourth place.
Did Not Qualify: None, only 43 cars entered for 43 spots.
Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the Pocono 400, his 21st victory in 519 NSCS races. This is the No. 88 Chevrolet SS driver's second victory and ninth top-10 finish in 2014. It is his first victory and 12th top-10 finish in 29 races at Pocono Raceway. His previous best Pocono finish was second (twice). With his second victory of the season, Earnhardt is guaranteed to be among the top 16 winners after race No. 26. He now needs only to finish in the top 30 in driver points after race No. 26 and attempt to qualify for every race to officially clinch a spot in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
3M Lap Leader: Tony Stewart, #14 24 Laps (12,13,18th)
Coors Light Pole Award: Denny Hamlin, #11 181.415 mph (POLE,4,8th)
American Ethanol Green Flag Restart Award: Brad Keselowski, #2 (3,2,5th)
Duralast Brakes "Brake in the Race": Brad Keselowski, #2
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Roush-Yates Engines, #2
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Kurt Busch, #41 (2,3,27th)
Moog Problem Solver: Dale Earnhardt Jr. #88 crew chief:Steve Letarte, .739 seconds (8,WINNER,3rd)
Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap: Clint Bowyer, #15 (19,11,16th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Kyle Larson, #42 (14,5,10th)

Jeff Gordon leads the point standings by 16 points over Matt Kenseth.
Top 16 - Chase Contenders (G/L):
1. Jeff Gordon 1
2. Matt Kenseth -1
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2
4. Jimmie Johnson 0
5. Brad Keselowski 3
6. Kyle Busch 1
7. Carl Edwards -4
8. Denny Hamlin 1
9. Joey Logano -3
10. Kyle Larson 0
11. Ryan Newman 0
12. Kevin Harvick 0
13. Brian Vickers 0
14. Greg Biffle 2
15. Austin Dillon 0
16. Clint Bowyer 1

Quicken Loans 400, Sunday, June 15 at Michigan International Speedway (Brooklyn, MI).
 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Nationwide Series

Standings: Regan Smith leads the point standings by 4 points over Elliott Sadler.

Next:Michigan 250, Saturday, June 14 at Michigan International Speedway.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Camping World Truck Series
Time Trials:
Justin Lofton won the Keystone Light Pole Award for the WinStar World Casino 400 with a lap of 30.054 seconds, 179.677 mph. This is the No. 20 Chevrolet Silverado driver's second pole in 82 NCWTS races. The first came at Chicagoland Speedway on July 21, 2012. He started first at Texas Motor Speedway in 2012, however the lineup was set per the rule book. Lofton never led a lap in the WinStar Casino 400 but he finished the race in 2nd place.
Did Not Qualify:None, only 27 trucks entered for the 36 spots.
Winner:Matt Crafton won the WinStar World Casino 400, his fifth victory in 322 NCWTS races. This is the No. 88 Toyota Tundra driver's second victory (Martinsville) and fourth top-10 finish in 2014. This is his first victory and 16th top-10 finish in 27 races at Texas Motor Speedway. He has three runner-up finishes at the track. Crafton's margin of victory (13.302 seconds) is a new series track record at Texas Motor Speedway.
Contingency Awards - (Start, Finish, Points):
Keystone Light Pole Award: Justin Lofton, #20 179.677 mph (POLE,2,25th)
Mobil 1 Driver of the Race: Matt Crafton, #88 (2,WINNER,LEADER)
Mahle Clevite Engine Builder of the Race: Toyota Racing Technologies (TRT), #88
Sunoco Rookie of the Race: Ben Kennedy, #31 (18,14,7th)

Standings:Matt Crafton leads the point standings by 11 points over Johnny Sauter.
Top 10 (G/L):
1. Matt Crafton 1
2. Johnny Sauter 1
3. Ron Hornaday Jr. 2
4. Ryan Blaney 3
5. Timothy Peters -4
6. German Quiroga -2
7. Ben Kennedy -1
8. John Wes Townley 0
9. Jeb Burton 0
10. Joey Coulter 0

Next:Drivin' for Linemen 200, Saturday June 14 at Gateway Motorsports Park (Madison, IL)
Other Racing Series

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
June 7, Pocono ARCA 200 at Pocono Raceway (Long Pond, PA)
Winner: Kyle Larson   -   Pole: Kyle Larson
Points Leader: Grant Enfinger
Next: June 13, Michigan ARCA 200 at Michigan International Speedway (Brooklyn, MI)

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-East
May 31, NASCAR Hall of Fame 150 at Bowman Gray Stadium (Winston-Salem, NC)
Winner: Ben Rhodes   -   Pole: Ben Rhodes
Points Leader: Ben Rhodes
Next: June 13, Pensacola 150 at Five Flags Speedway (Pensacola, FL)

NASCAR K&N Pro Series-West
May 24, Armed Forces 150 at Kern County Raceway Park (Bakersfield, CA)
Winner: Greg Pursley   -      Pole: Greg Pursley
Points Leader: Greg Pursley
Next: June 21, Carneros 200 at Sonoma (CA) Raceway.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series
May 18 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
Winner: J.R. Fitzpatrick   -   Pole: Andrew Ranger
Points Leader: J.R. Fitzpatrick
Next: June 14, Budweiser 300 at Autodrome Chaudiére (Vallée-Jonction, Quebec)

NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series
June 8, NMTS Mexico City at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez (Mexico City).
Winner: Daniel Suarez
Points Leader: Daniel Suarez
Next: July 20, NMTS Aguascalientes at the Autodromo Internacional de Aquascalientes

NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour
June 6, TSI Harley-Davidson 125 at Stafford (CT) Motor Speedway
Winner: Doug Coby   -   Pole: Bobby Santos
Points Leader: Doug Coby
Next: June 21, Mr. Rooter 161 at Waterford (CT) Speedbowl

NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour
April 12, Courtyard By Marriott/Pepsi 150 at Langley Speedway (Hampton, VA)
Winner:  George Brunnhoelzl III -   Pole: Ryan Preece
Points Leader: Andy Seuss
Next: July 4, NWSMT Caraway at Caraway Speedway in Sophia, N.C.

Tony Ballantoni runs the NASCAR coverage at
Email :Anthony Ballantoni

Highest Searched Drivers over the last 7 days

Video Center

    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600

    NASCAR Fantasy: Coke 600
    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?

    MLB: Buy, hold or sell?
    Waiver Wire: Need saves?

    Waiver Wire: Need saves?
    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell

    Baseball: Buy, hold, sell
    Waiver wire: Top SP targets

    Waiver wire: Top SP targets
    NASCAR Fantasy: Kansas

    NASCAR Fantasy: Kansas
    MLB: Sell Paxton, Buy Bird

    MLB: Sell Paxton, Buy Bird
    Top MLB waiver wire adds

    Top MLB waiver wire adds