Loading scores...
Brooks Koepka
Getty Images
The Reset

Koepka wins major No. 4; Colonial next up

by Dave Tindall
Updated On: May 19, 2019, 7:30 pm ET

In a new regular column on Rotoworld, we reflect on the tournaments just gone and also take an early peek at the action ahead on the PGA and European Tours.


PGA Championship

Final Leaderboard

1. (-8, 272) Brooks Koepka (Odds: 11/1, Draftkings $10,400)
2. (-6, 274) Dustin Johnson (Odds: 10/1, Draftkings $11,100)
3. (-2, 278) Jordan Spieth (Odds: 25/1, Draftkings $8,600)
3. (-2, 278) Patrick Cantlay (Odds: 50/1, Draftkings $8,200)
3. (-2, 278) Matt Wallace (Odds: 125/1, Draftkings $6,700)

Fate of the favorites

2. (-6, 274) Dustin Johnson (Odds: 10/1, Draftkings $11,100)
MC (+5, 145) Tiger Woods (Odds: 10/1, Draftkings $11,300)
1. (-8, 272) Brooks Koepka (Odds: 11/1, Draftkings $10,400)
8. (+1, 281) Rory McIlroy (Odds: 12/1, Draftkings $10,900)

Notes: Early odds from Vegas show Koepka as clear favorite for next month's U.S. Open at Pebble Beach. Not before time! Looked a bargain at $10,400 on Draftkings this week and so it proved. Bethpage was a good event for the betting favorites apart from Tiger.


Coming up this week…

Charles Schwab Challenge

Location: Colonial CC, Fort Worth, Texas. 7,209 yards, par 70.

Notes: The what? Ah, Colonial! First played in 1946, it's one of the five invitational tournaments on the PGA TOUR, hence the reduced field size. This is the 74th edition. Doglegs, tight fairways and Bermuda greens.

Who’s playing? Justin Rose, Jon Rahm, Jordan Spieth, Bryson DeChambeau, Rickie Fowler, Francesco Molinari, Xander Schauffele, Paul Casey, Tony Finau, Louis Oosthuizen.

Last 5 winners

2018 (-20, 260) Justin Rose – 9th PGA TOUR win
2017 (-10, 270) Kevin Kisner – 2nd PGA TOUR win
2016 (-17, 263) Jordan Spieth – 8th PGA TOUR win
2015 (-12, 268) Chris Kirk – 4th PGA TOUR win
2014 (-9, 271) Adam Scott – 11th PGA TOUR win

Notes: England's Justin Rose denied Brooks Koepka last year with scoring ultra-low but Americans had won 13 of the previous 15 editions. Check the weather forecast as Adam Scott won with 11 shots fewer than Rose in 2014, the first time single digits under par had won since Olin Browne in 1999. Zach Johnson holds the 72-hole record of 21-under (2010).



Made In Denmark

Location: Himmerland Golf & Spa Resort, Farso, Denmark. 6,881 yards, par 71.

Notes: After being played at Silkeborg Ry Golf Club last year, we're back to Himmerland, the venue for the first four editions of the event which was first introduced to the European Tour in 2014. But there's a schedule change. Previously played in August, it moves forward to the May slot previously occupied by the BMW PGA Championship. That tournament moves to September.

Who’s playing? Thorbjorn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard, Matt Wallace, Lee Westwood, Jorge Campillo, Thomas Pieters, Erik van Rooyen, Thomas Detry, Victor Dubuisson.

Last 5 winners

2018 (-19, 269) Matt Wallace – 4th European Tour win
2017 (-19, 265) Julian Suri – 1st European Tour win
2016 (-17, 267) Thomas Pieters – 3rd European Tour win
2015 (-13, 271) David Horsey – 4th European Tour win
2014 (-9, 275) Marc Warren – 3rd European Tour win

Notes: The last two winners both went low although Wallace's 19-under came at Silkeborg. Aside from Suri, the tournament has gone to a player with at least two previous victories.

Dave Tindall
Dave Tindall is former golf editor at Sky Sports.com in the UK and has been writing betting previews for the European Tour since 1997. He can be reached via e-mail on tindall_david@hotmail.com and on Twitter @davetindallgolf.