Loading scores...
Kyle Larson
Getty Images

Wrap-up: Charlotte All-Star Race

by Anthony Ballantoni
Updated On: May 19, 2019, 7:35 pm ET

NASCAR's CUP All-Star and Truck series races were held at Charlotte Motor Speedway (CMS) this past weekend. The Gander Outdoors Truck Series teams competed in the 134-lap North Carolina Education Lottery 200 on Friday night at the 1.5-mile oval. On Saturday night, the CUP drivers went for a $1 Million cash award and "bragging rights" in the non-points, Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star race at the Concord, NC track. The XFINITY Series, idle last week, will return to action on Saturday, May 25, with the Alsco 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The results and upcoming scheduled events for the NASCAR Home Tracks and other series are also shown below.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race
The Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race starting lineup was set after Friday's qualifying at CMS. Clint Bowyer (No. 14 Ford) clocked a fast lap of 185.022 mph to earn the pole for Saturday night's event. Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Austin Dillon and Martin Truex Jr. made up the rest of the top-five starters in the field of 15 drivers. Prior to the All-Star Race on Saturday, 24 additional drivers entered a last-chance "Open" race which was run to give three drivers a chance to transfer into the All-Star main event. Kyle Larson (No. 42 Chevrolet) won the Monster Energy Open, William Byron (No. 24 Chevrolet) won Stage 1 and Bubba Wallace (No. 43 Ford) won Stage 2. Also, Alex Bowman (No. 88 Chevrolet) won the Fan Vote and joined Larson, Byron and Wallace in advancing to the All-Star Race. The four-stage main event for the 19 drivers was scheduled to run for a total of 85 laps (30/20/20/15 laps). It ran into overtime in stage four. Kyle Larson won the 88-lap Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race (and the $1 Million), his first victory in the CUP Series non-points event. He becomes the second driver all-time to win the Open and go on to win the All-Star Race on the same weekend joining Ryan Newman (2002). Kevin Harvick (second) posted his sixth top-five finish in 19 All-Star races at CMS. Kyle Busch (third) posted his fifth top-five finish in 14 All-Star races.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (CUP)
Standings: Joey Logano leads the point standings by 9 points over Kyle Busch.

TOP 16 - Chase Contenders:
1. Joey Logano +1
2. Kyle Busch -1
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Chase Elliott +3
5. Brad Keselowski +1
6. Denny Hamlin -2
7. Martin Truex Jr. -2
8. Kurt Busch
9. Clint Bowyer +1
10. Ryan Blaney -1
11. Aric Almirola
12. Alex Bowman +1
13. Daniel Suarez -1
14. Erik Jones +2
15. Kyle Larson
16. Jimmie Johnson +1

NEXT: Sunday, May 26, Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway (1.5-mile oval in Concord, NC)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Standings: Tyler Reddick leads the 2019 NXS point standings by 23 points over Christopher Bell.

TOP 12 - Chase Contenders:
1. Tyler Reddick
2. Christopher Bell
3. Cole Custer
4. Austin Cindric
5. Justin Allgaier
6. Chase Briscoe
7. John Hunter Nemechek
8. Ryan Sieg
9. Noah Gragson
10. Michael Annett
11. Justin Haley
12. Brandon Jones

NEXT: Saturday, May 25, Alsco 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, NC
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series (GOTS)
TIME TRIALS: Matt Crafton (No. 88 Ford F-150) won the Pole Award for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 with a lap of 179.134 mph. This is his 15th pole in 438 GOTS races. It is his second pole and fifth top-10 start in 2019 and his first pole in 17 races at CMS. Stewart Friesen (second) posted his eighth top-10 start of 2019 and his second in three CMS races. Todd Gilliland (third) posted his second top-10 start at CMS and his fourth in eight races this season. Harrison Burton (fourth) was the fastest qualifying Sunoco Rookie of the Year (ROTY) contender.
Did Not Qualify: No. 92 Timothy Peters, No. 14 Trey Hutchens III, No. 34 Josh Bilicki and No. 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb.

RESULTS: CUP regular Kyle Busch, driving his own No. 51 Toyota Tundra, won the NC Education Lottery 200, his 56th victory in 150 GOTS races. This is his fifth victory and fifth top-10 truck finish in 2019. It is his eighth victory and 12th top-10 finish in 13 GOTS races at CMS. Brennan Poole (second) posted his first top-10 finish in his first start at CMS. It is his second top-10 finish in 2019. Stewart Friesen (third) posted his second top-10 finish in three CMS races. Anthony Alfredo (eighth) was the highest finishing ROTY contender. Pole-sitter Matt Crafton led seven laps and finished the 134-lap event in fifth place.
Standings: Grant Enfinger leads the point standings by 15 points over Stewart Friesen.

TOP 8 - Chase Contenders:
1. Grant Enfinger
2. Stewart Friesen +1
3. Brett Moffitt -1
4. Ben Rhodes
5. Matt Crafton +1
6. Johnny Sauter -1
7. Austin Hill
8. Todd Gilliland +1

NEXT: Friday, Jun 17, SpeedyCash.com 400 at Texas Motor Speedway (1.5-mile quad-oval in Fort Worth)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
NASCAR Home Tracks
ARCA Menards Series - (AMS)
May 19, Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 at Toledo (OH) Speedway (0.5-mile oval)
Winner: Chandler Smith - Pole: Michael Self - Points Leader: Michael Self
Next: May 23, General Tire 150 at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Concord, NC

K&N Pro Series-East - (KNE)
May 4, Twin 100-lap races at South Boston Speedway (0.4-mile oval in VA)
Race 1 Winner: Tanner Gray - Pole: Tanner Gray - Points Leader: Sam Mayer
Race 2 Winner: Derek Kraus - Pole: Nick Sanchez - Points Leader: Derek Kraus
Next: Jun 1 at Memphis International Raceway (0.75-mile tri-oval in Millington, TN)

K&N Pro Series-West - (KNW)
May 11, Twin 100-lap races at Tucson Speedway (0.375-mile oval in AZ)
Race 1 Winner: Derek Kraus - Pole: Tanner Gray - Points Leader: Derek Kraus
Race 2 Winner: Derek Kraus - Pole: Brittany Zamora - Points Leader: Derek Kraus
Next: Jun 8 at Colorado National Speedway (0.375-mile oval in Dacono, CO)

Pinty’s Series - (NPS)
Season-opener: May 19 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (2.459-mile road course near Bowmanville, Ontario)
Winner: Kevin Lacroix - Pole: Gary Klutt - Points Leader: Kevin Lacroix
Next: Jun 1 at Jukasa Motor Speedway (0.625-mile oval in Hagersville, Ontario)

Whelen Modified Tour - (WMT)
May 18, Jersey Shore 150 at Wall Stadium Speedway (0.333-mile oval in Wall Township, NJ)
Winner: Woody Pitkat - Pole: Justin Bonsignore - Points Leader: Doug Coby
Next: Jun 1, Seekonk 150 at Seekonk Speedway (0.333-mile oval in Massachusetts)

Anthony Ballantoni
Anthony Ballantoni is a Senior Sports Writer at Rotoworld.com.